15 Characteristics of a Healthy Relationship

It’s been seven years since I wrote Friends, Partners & Lovers. It’s coming up on three years of serving as the Married Life Pastor along with teaching roles at my current church. During that time, I have regularly heard one comment that I never considered before working in the marriage field. The comment is this: “Before I heard you, I thought our relationship was fine, but I didn’t even know what a good relationship was.”

Why is that? Several reasons:

  • We normalize our experience, even if it’s unhealthy.

  • We don’t always have role models for good relationships.

  • Society shows us things without telling us they are not normal.

Because of this common lack of understanding, Leslie and I are talking about 15 Characteristics of a Healthy Relationship on this week’s episode of Change the Odds The Podcast. (Click for Apple Podcast)

Some of these characteristics are what you would expect—trust, respect, vulnerability, etc. But many of them are not the first things that come to mind. For example, consider this poll. All of these traits are important, but which is the most important to you?

Which do you find most important in a healthy relationship?

Leave a comment as to why this is important.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Listen to the podcast and consider which traits your relationship might be lacking. (Remember, if you have an anonymous question you want answered, ask it HERE.)

Single women age 15-35 are not my target audience, but I have some friends who have created something specifically for that crowd. The Am I Doing This Right Podcast is for young women trying to figure out a life of faith. I was on their show this week. Listen here:

Upcoming events at Change the Odds: