2020 Marriage Challenge Day 14

Day 14. Catch me on Focus on the Family today

Day 14: Love Remembers

I'm not a big fan of Valentine's Day. You can't write the article, "Happy Valentine's Day--I'm Not Your Soul Mate" and be seen as a great romantic. What I don't like about this day is the attempt to make big/expensive gestures in hopes of making up for hundreds of missed small opportunities to express love. To me, it's too materialistic.  However, there is a value in this day. Holidays provide memorable markers. They can cause us to pause and reflect on the passing of time. We can look back to joys we've had, things we've overcome, and struggles we've endured. And this holiday values love and marriage in a way that others do not. We need to value marriage. We need to celebrate the gift of marriage. While no marriage is perfect, my guess is that nearly every marriage has aspects to celebrate and honor. This is a day to do just that.  Love remembers. On this day, I remember the nervousness of giving Jenny a Valentine's Day gift while we were still dating. I remember our first February 14th after we were married. I'm reminded of all of the things we've learned and experienced over the years. And the remembering causes me to love her more.     Application: Read the article, "The Easiest Way to Rejuvenate Your Marriage." Spend part of your Valentine's Day remembering the good times of your relationship.           For more, see:How to Get Valentine's Day WrongIs Pina Colada the Best Marriage Song Ever?