Anxiety

Better understand who you are or one you love

Some call this the anxious generation. While generations before us faced far greater turmoil, no generation has faced as much anxiety as ours. It impacts our kids, marriages, workplaces, churches, and communities.

If you don't have regular anxiety, I can assure you that someone you love does.

Many people wonder why, but I don’t. Consider, if I wanted to give someone anxiety, here’s what I would do:

  • Ignore your need for sleep, exercise, and a good diet

  • Convince you that life is found in possessing material things

  • Continually compare yourself with the most air-brushed versions of others (Instagram)

  • Be bombarded with endless news of tragedy and evil (push notifications)

  • Live at the fastest pace possible with no breaks for silence or solitude

  • Have hundreds of pseudo-relationships (followers/fans) but primarily live in isolation with no one truly seeing your heart

If I wanted to prescribe anxiety, I would have someone live precisely how we live today. It’s no wonder we are the Anxious Generation.

Because of the times in which we live and the lives we are experiencing, we need to become experts at identifying anxiety and finding ways to minimize it in our lives. Consider a metal detector. You have to set the sensitivity of the detector to use it properly—not sensitive enough and you will miss being notified of essential things, yet too sensitive and you might as well not have a machine. For me, anxiety means I’m wired just a little too high. I’m detecting more threats than actually exist. So the question becomes, how can I turn it down?

The simplest step I know to tone my anxiety down is found in Stay In Your Lane. Reminding myself what does and does not belong to me, helps give me clarity. While the book is useful, the most effective process to lower anxiety is to take a few weeks and study it with a small group. This provides the time necessary to truly apply the concepts. (For small group videos of the book, go here.)

Parenting a Child with Anxiety

Parenting is always tricky, but one of the significant challenges of our day is parenting kids who are overwhelmed with anxiety. What do we do? How do we ensure that their anxiety doesn’t create anxiety within us? How do we ensure our anxiety doesn’t add to their anxiety?

This is an experience Jenny and I have. Several years ago, we went through a difficult season with one of our children regarding anxiety, specifically as related to school. Four years later, we are shocked by where we are and how good things are (all while recognizing that things can quickly change).

Some of the story and all of the lessons from that season are in our book Fearless Families. The book gives a framework for parents, leaders, and individuals of how to navigate anxiety.

A Biblical View of Anxiety

The Church has traditionally gotten a lot wrong when it comes to anxiety. Shame, guilt, or denial are common tools used. But what if there was another way?

In the following sermon, I share part of my story and look at a New Testament passage regarding anxiety. Give it a listen and sent it to a friend that it might help.

More Resources

If you are looking for more resources regarding anxiety, here are some articles I’ve written: