Day 21, 28 Day Marriage Challenge 2022

Day 21 of the 28-Day Marriage Challenge

Day 21: Bring Happiness

It's not your spouse's job to make you happy. Far too often, we expect something from marriage which it cannot deliver. Marriage can not make you happy. It can add to your happiness, but it cannot be the source of it. In Happily, I write, "We can find happiness--not from each other but with one another." (pg. 198) Happiness is far more something I bring to my spouse rather than something I gain from them. My well-being is one gift I give to them. Yet, when we expect our spouse to make us happy, we are setting them up for failure. No one can be happy every day, but it's not unreasonable to expect that our general definition of our lives should include happiness. It's our personal responsibility to make choices which lead to contentment and then to bring that well-being into our marriage.  Application: Stop blaming your spouse for your unhappiness. Work on yourself and bring your well-being into your relationship rather than expecting to get it from your marriage.For more, see:9 Choices Happy Couples MakeTwo Words Which Describe Many People I Know