February 23, 2018

10 Misguided Pieces of Marriage Advice

Bad marriage advice is all around. My guess is you've heard many of these. You might have even said one or two. But don't let bad advice hurt your marriage. Especially avoid number 6.

     Jenny and I have been traveling for the past few weeks doing marriage conferences. I speak on stage as she sits in the back and tries to appear as though she has never heard the stories. One reason I love her is because our relationship is fun. While fun isn't the primary purpose for marriage, it should be present in nearly every relationship. Consider:

     My kids are fascinated by the Olympics. What has my attention is how many of the athletes struggle with depression after their careers are over. If their success doesn't ensure peace, what makes us think ours will? Read

.

     Our family has greatly benefited from counseling. From Jenny and I seeking premarital counseling before we were married to me seeking one-on-one guidance when I felt burned out, I'm grateful for those who have taken the time to study and learn to direct others. If you have any interest in helping others or need help yourself, consider

.

     Here's the just-published article on my website. Be one of the first to share it on social media: 

.