Read This Before Your Family Arrives

this is the secret to navigating family at the holidays

I’m writing 1500 miles from my bed. It’s become our tradition to spend the week before Thanksgiving back in Arkansas/Oklahoma. (For all you criminals out there, we do have some college guys house-sitting and our German Shepherd tends to bite first and not ask questions later.)

As we are spending time with family, I’m reminded of how difficult of a time this coming week (and month) is for many families. For many, time together is a recipe for tension, frustration, and a good family fight.

But what if there was a simple way to prevent all of that?

Good news, there is.

Are you ready for it? Stay in your lane.

Yep, that’s it. It’s that simple. I don’t care how biased I am. For twenty years I’ve shown this method to people and I’m yet to have a family say, “We did that and it didn’t work.”

Instead, I’ve interacted with hundreds of people who are shocked by how such a simple process can have such a big impact. It’s always useful, but it is especially useful during the holidays.

Imagine if:

  • No one in the family gave advice without being asked.

  • No one attempted to fight or refute something that didn’t impact them.

  • Families could simply say, “It’s not what I would do, but that’s your business.”

  • Your mother-in-law supported where you choose to spend Christmas without any guilt.

  • The ones you loved the most honored your choices.

This can happen. People simply have to become aware of what it means to stay in their lane and then start doing it. They won’t be perfect, but just being aware of the process helps change take place.

So, before your family arrives. Read (or re-read) the book. You can do so here:

How Do I Get My Adult Children to Read the Book?

Last month I was speaking to a few hundred women when I was asked a good question—”How do I get my adult child to read Stay In Your Lane without me swerving out of my lane?”

Ha. I love that question. And my answer was immediate:

Hand every adult in your family a copy of Stay In Your Lane and say, ‘After reading this book, I realized Dad and I haven’t always done a good job to stay in our lane. We are sorry. Can you read this and hold us accountable to it?

If you say it that way, I don’t know a single person who won’t read the book. Rather than telling someone else that they need the book, take ownership and admit that you need the book. That should intrigue people enough to get them to at least flip through it.

Remember How Easy This Book Is

Don’t forget, this is the easiest book you’ve read since Good Night Moon. The book is small; the pages are few; the font is big; and there are pictures. Truth be told, you don’t even have to fully read the book—just look at the chart on the very last page.

Whatever it takes to get the concept in your head so that you start minding your own business, stop giving unrequested advice, and start taking ownership of your own life, it will be worth it.

A Quick Poll

What's the most common way someone in your family fails to stay in their lane?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

How To Have a Better Christmas

It sounds simple, but I can guarantee you the results. If you want to have the best Christmas you’ve had in years, do this: at Thanksgiving, give everyone a copy of Stay In Your Lane and ask them to read it before Christmas.

If they will do this one simple thing, it will transform a family’s Christmas.

The Bible Study

It’s been great fun to hear small groups and book clubs studying the Stay In Your Lane Bible Study. If your group would like to do so in the new year, just reply to this message and I can get you copies of the Bible Study. It goes along with the video series you can see here:

I hope you have a great Thanksgiving.

If I can be of any assistance to you or your family, don’t hesitate to reply to this message.