Shocking Stats About Marriage

something major has changed

Jenny and I met in college. We actually met before that (at a church event) but she blew me off so we don’t talk about that. We dated for over a year, got married at 22, and have been married for 24 years. (Don’t forget to answer the poll at the end regarding how you met your spouse.)

While our path isn’t meant for everyone, it was the common path at one point. Now, it’s nearly unheard of. While not everyone should do what we did, there is a significant shift happening among young people regarding relationships and it will have a transformative impact on culture.

Here’s one example: in 1968, 83% of young adults (25-34) were married. Now the number is 39%. So in these prime childbearing years, far less adults are married. This means less children born and more children living in a house without a mom or dad. While we like to pretend this doesn’t make a difference because kids are resilient, none of the science verifies that thought. Instead, more and more research is showing that growing up in a home without a mom or dad carries a lifelong cost.

To help me think through what’s going on among the young adult crowd, two of my good friends join me this week on the Podcast. The mock me, call me old, and make me laugh. Listen on Apple or on Spotify and share with your friends.

For more on dating and marriage, see:

If you want a good book that makes the case FOR marriage and shows the power of a healthy relationship for an individual, couple, and culture, see Brad Wilcox’s book Get Married.

If you want to know more about my podcast guests this week, go here to see their podcast: Am I Doing This Right?

Where did you meet your significant other?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.