Why You Struggle to Communicate in Marriage

Communication Is the Byproduct of Connection

The way most people know me is as a communicator. Last year I was on a podcast heard by 3 million people. I wrote an article read by 10 million people a few years ago. I’ve published four (soon to be five) books. Nearly every weekend, I’m on stage before a few thousand people.

While communication is most people’s greatest fear, it is one of my great joys, except in one area.

I don’t fear any communication except one. I don’t like to communicate my needs. Often I don’t recognize them. Even when I do, I keep them to myself. And on the rare occasion I mention them, I often downplay them or force others to read between the lines of what I’m saying.

Some might wrongly conclude this is a byproduct of humility based on elevating others and lessening self. But it’s not.

My inability to clearly communicate my needs is actually one of the most unloving things I do. It’s the result of pride, not the absence of it. It’s a fixation on self rather than a focus on others.

While I’ve come a long way, I still regularly struggle to communicate my needs and desires to my wife, family, friends, bosses, and co-workers.

It is the greatest hindrance to the well-being of my closest relationships. And I know why that is.

I also know it’s what’s behind most couples saying their greatest struggle is communication.

Communication isn’t the problem; attachment is. In our closest relationships, communication is dictated by attachment. You can’t change the former until you work on the latter.

Subscribe to Premium Membership to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium Membership to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In

A subscription gets you:
Weekly Articles
Marriage Classes
Engagement with the Change the Odds community
E-books