Weekly Newsletter

Weekly Newsletter

finding wisdom in a foolish world

Excerpts:

One of my favorite Ella stories of old illustrates her stubbornness. She was supposed to spend the night with my sister. Ella loves her aunt, and the sleepover would give me and Jenny a night to ourselves. The afternoon of the event, Ella was doing something and wouldn’t stop. After several trips to timeout for her actions, I told Ella, “If you do that again, I’m going to call Aunt Leigh and tell her youContinue Reading...

Men can be brilliant. They can do amazing things, make noble choices, and use their God-given strengths to serve those around them. They can also be idiots. They can be selfish, closed-minded, and jealous. I often pray with single women who want a husband and I remind them, “No man is better than just any man.” When a woman falls in love with a good man, it is a wonderful thing. When she intertwines herContinue Reading...

I want to fix it. Give me a pill. Show me an exercise. Explain to me what I must do to make it go away. Anytime I experience something in my life which I do not like, I want to make it go away as fast as possible. Anxiety is a prime example. The symptoms of anxiety vary: difficulty swallowing nausea irritability stomach pain sleeplessness chest pain trouble breathing No matter the symptom, when someone feelsContinue Reading...