Weekly Newsletter

Weekly Newsletter

finding wisdom in a foolish world

Excerpts:

Some decisions matter more than others. (For the first step in decision making, see: Stop Freaking Out) Few, if any, remember what they had for lunch five years ago today, but every person can distinctly remember their wedding day, no matter how many wedding days they have had. I regularly tell couples at a wedding, […]

Some fall apart when the smallest thing doesn’t go their way. They become paralyzed, unable to fathom life going on. Others seem to soar through tragedy after tragedy. Nothing destroys them and they continue with life no matter what comes their way. What is the difference between the two? (See: How We Respond to Suffering) […]

I often wonder if when Bill Gates experiences computer problems, does he turn it off and turn it back on? I assume so. Even one of the greatest computer minds to ever exist probably has to occasionally do a hard reboot of his computer. As it is with computers, so it is with marriage. Every […]

Sometimes I get tired of being nice. I fantasize about what it would be like to: give people a piece of my mind say whatever I want to say return a rude action with a rude action hang up on someone yell at someone never speak to someone again But it’s all a fantasy. In […]

The post I’m Tired of Being Nice appeared first on Kevin A. Thompson.

Years ago we moved into a new house and my mom and grandparents moved in next door. During that first week we were having dinner at my house. At one point my grandmother, mom, wife, and daughter were all in the kitchen. As I was standing there, they all told me something I should do: […]

The post My Wife Before My Mother appeared first on Kevin A. Thompson.