Weekly Newsletter

Weekly Newsletter

finding wisdom in a foolish world

Excerpts:

Landon loves his dad. As many 8 year-olds, he wants to grow up to be just like him. Whether his dad knows it or not, every move he makes is being watched by his son. Here is what Landon sees: At the stadium, his dad is fully alive–involved, vocal, and passionate. At home, his dad is passive–quiet, lazy, and distant. In the game, his dad is encouraging, motivating, and interested in every play. In church,Continue Reading...

A few weeks ago I did something I rarely do–I sat with the congregation and listened to a sermon. It doesn’t happen often. In most years, I speak 47-50 weeks per year. The few Sundays I don’t preach, I’m normally traveling. But on this particular Sunday I was looking at the stage instead of standing on it. As I listened, I wrote down things that struck me. Many of those things were paraphrases of theContinue Reading...