Weekly Newsletter

Weekly Newsletter

finding wisdom in a foolish world

Excerpts:

I didn’t think there was anything wrong with the Facebook post, but I could be wrong. Clearly someone thought I was wrong. I was in Wal-Mart and happened to wander into their book section. The most prominent book displayed in the Christian section was a book allegedly about Biblical prophecy. In my theological opinion it […]

Getting a tooth filled is not painful, but it is exhausting. Modern techniques have taken the pain of dental work away. The only part that is painful is the process of numbing the pain. While most shots do not hurt, a few of them carry a few seconds of significant pain. But after the shots, […]

The post Drill, Rest, Then Drill Again appeared first on Kevin A. Thompson.

Divorce happens. As much as I wish it didn’t, it does. Most divorces should never happen. Relationships end because one or both spouses are unwilling to do the difficult work which marriages require. It is a great tragedy. (See: A Map for Navigating Life’s Disappointments) Yet some divorces have to happen. Even as a pastor, […]

I pastor in my hometown. Before a new subdivision was built beside our church, I could look out my office window during the winter and see the elementary school and junior high I attended as a kid. Out the back field of our property is the house my best friend grew up in. It’s an […]

The post You Don’t Know Me appeared first on Kevin A. Thompson.

Shrek and Donkey were transformed in their journey together for the princess. Rocky grew from his pursuit of a title. Great teams find themselves in the pursuit of a championship. Mission and character go hand-in-hand. In literature and life, a person finds what they are made of on a great quest and the quest helps make them […]