Weekly Newsletter

Weekly Newsletter

finding wisdom in a foolish world

Excerpts:

I’m not a prophet. I’m highly skeptical of anyone who claims they know what the future holds. I have a horrible track record of predicting what is to come. In 2010 I bought stock in a natural gas ETF because “there is no way the price could go lower.” (It was at $75 per share, now it’s at $8.) I thought Netflix would never be popular. I once told a friend on the school board,Continue Reading...

I love marriage. If I could give an individual a gift, apart from a meaningful and vibrant faith, I would want to give people a committed, loving marriage. Few things are better than a healthy marriage. When a marriage is good, a couple can face nearly anything in life. When it’s bad, almost everything becomes impossible. But marriage isn’t perfect. No matter how good a marriage might be, it has problems. No couple is perfect.Continue Reading...

The post What I Hate About Marriage appeared first on Kevin A. Thompson.

I notice it when I’m stressed—my pace quickens, my stride gets longer; I walk fast. When I catch myself, my mind always goes back to graduate school. I worked at a church for a semester. The pastor was wonderful. He was kind, compassionate, and always made time for me. The internship was a school assignment which did very little to impact my academics, but did much to impact my soul. When the semester ended, IContinue Reading...

The post Walk Slowly at Christmas appeared first on Kevin A. Thompson.