Weekly Newsletter

Weekly Newsletter

finding wisdom in a foolish world

Excerpts:

Being a parent can force you to say things you never would have expected. I often find myself yelling, “Stop yelling.” I’ve told my son, “We do not take Barbie’s clothes off and then use Barbie to hit your sister.” When my daughter was a toddler, I found myself saying, “Sweetheart, it’s not nice to […]

“I’ll scratch your back if you’ll scratch mine.” This phrase of reciprocity often makes the world go ’round. None of us can make it through life without the help of others. We need others and others need us. It’s a way of life I often follow. I shop local before going to national stores. I […]

The single life gives room for deception. When you are single, it’s possible to think you are better than you actually are. Marriage and parenting removes the deceit. There are no questions—you are highly flawed. If you are single, when you get tired of people, you can find alone time. Rarely are you seen at […]

For the first time in three years, Ella will have a new teacher as school starts this year. Having repeated one grade and having her teacher move up with her for another grade, the last three years have been spent with the same instructor. But this year we get to break in a new one. […]

It sounds good. It seemingly puts everyone on the same plane and gives us all the peaceful belief that our current thoughts do not have lasting consequences. “Every religion is the same,” they say. No need to discuss it. No need to look at the propositional truths behind each belief system. No need to take any […]

Nearly every headline reads the same, “Tony Stewart Hits, Kills Driver.” It’s provocative. It’s attention grabbing. And it’s false. The headline may be smart in today’s click-thirsty culture, but it’s reckless journalism and it must stop. In a tragic accident, dirt-track driver Kevin Ward Jr. was killed when he was hit by a car driven by […]