Weekly Newsletter

Weekly Newsletter

finding wisdom in a foolish world

Excerpts:

“How do I start a blog?” It’s a recurring question in daily conversations. About six months into starting this website, I began to hear the question. People would take me to lunch, come by my office, or email me asking for advice. It is striking how much the desire to write (or at least to […]

The post Five Steps to Starting a Blog appeared first on Kevin A. Thompson.

A friend once told me, “I’ve never felt any conflict between my faith and my patriotism.” In his experience there had never been a time in which what Jesus has commanded and what his country needed were at odds. My experience is radically different. (See: The Lie of Christmas) I often feel a tension between […]

Next year. It’s full of great hope and potential. Soon one year will give way to the next and new opportunities will be given to try again, to live differently, and to do things right. As we begin to think about who we would like to be next year, we also have the opportunity to […]

There is more going on than what you see. One of the most amazing places to which the pastorate takes me is NICU. It can be the saddest place of my life, but most often it is the most hopeful place in my life. Most of the babies I see in NICU grow up to […]

Most bad decisions are a failure in timing and not a failure in choice. Rarely do we choose things which would always be a bad choice in every time, circumstance, and situation. In nearly every scenario when we make a bad decision, we choose an appropriate choice but at the wrong time. Consider food. When […]