Weekly Newsletter

Work and Rest : Posts from Kevin A. Thompson

finding wisdom in a foolish world

Excerpts:

It’s not negotiable. Unless lightning is in the area or a church member which I’m really close to is near death, (in other words, unless someone is dying or I could die) I’m playing golf on Friday morning. Why? (See: 6+1, The First Math Problem We Should Teach Our Kids) Because if I don’t, I’ll […]

The post Work and Rest appeared first on Kevin A. Thompson.

Some decisions are too important for a child to make. Good parents do not allow their children to choose if they: go to school eat sleep go to church obey While children should be allowed to make many choices, there are some decisions which are too important for them to be trusted with. Sports fall […]

“Your parents are better at sex than you are.” Whenever I teach Intro to Speech to college students, I open one class with that line. It serves a dual purpose: it shows them the power of a good opening line, and it helps my main point be memorable. I want to remind my students that […]

I look at the pictures on Facebook and wonder what it is like for a parent to watch a child graduate High School. They see their little baby all grown up and they must be overwhelmed with emotion. As mixed as their emotions must be over their child growing up, it’s also frightening to send […]

Either you are capable or you aren’t. There is no real in between. You either have the skills necessary or you don’t. Time will prove it. And because time will prove it, there is no need for you to prove yourself. We’ve all tried it. We’ve been put in a position which the critics think […]

The post Never Try to Prove Yourself appeared first on Kevin A. Thompson.