Weekly Newsletter

Weekly Newsletter

finding wisdom in a foolish world

Excerpts:

I have some friends who will experience their greatest Thanksgiving ever this year. Never will the day have been so sweet, their gratitude been so genuine, or their joy been so full. Some won’t even recognize the goodness of the day until weeks later as they reflect on where they are now compared to where they have been. Others will be keenly aware of what is happening with every passing second of the day. ButContinue Reading...

Twenty teenage girls are on a beach trip. They are having a horrible time. Insecurity runs rampant and expresses itself in a thousand different fights. At any moment, any number of combination of girls aren’t talking to the other girls. They spend most of their time moping in the condo. Except, for about an hour each day, they put on their swimsuits, fix their hair and make-up, go to the beach and take selfies. TheContinue Reading...

Shark Tank is one of our family’s favorite TV shows. I love that my two, elementary age children have their eyes opened to producing products and creating the life they want rather than just assuming they will grow up one day and depend on someone else for a job. In an economy that is drastically different than thirty years ago, it’s important for children to be thinking about the job they might want to createContinue Reading...

I can still see her smile the first time we met. It wasn’t a suggestive smile. It was a kind smile as she blew me off. But it was still a smile I remembered. I can still see her smile the second time we met. There wasn’t a boyfriend this time so knowingly or unknowingly she allowed the smile to linger. There are probably more than a hundred snap shots of Jenny which are savedContinue Reading...

Life would be better if people would just do what I say. I find myself thinking this on a regular basis and in many cases it is true. Every week, I spend a good amount of time trying to convince others to make obvious wise choices even when they are tempted to follow the voice in their head telling them that I don’t know the uniqueness of their situation and that what they are feelingContinue Reading...