Weekly Newsletter

Weekly Newsletter

finding wisdom in a foolish world

Excerpts:

The Book of Proverbs has long been one of my favorite books. Whenever I find myself in a waiting room, I will often pull up the chapter of Proverbs which corresponds to the day’s date and read the sayings. Proverbs shows us how the world often works. There may be exceptions to some of the rules, but generally speaking, life is better when we live by these principles. Here are five of the lesser-known ProverbsContinue Reading...

Men dictate the climate of a marriage. It is not a universal truth. There are obvious exceptions. To apply this concept to any individual marriage can cause great harm. Yet it is generally true. As a man goes, so often goes the marriage. (See: This Is the Kind of Husband I Want to Be) Show me a man who is: passionate about marriage sacrifices for his wife listens well shows humility works on himself and his marriage welcomesContinue Reading...

The post What Men Can Do For Marriage appeared first on Kevin A. Thompson.

One of my greatest privileges in life is being a father. Few things are as transformative as the first time you hold your child in your arms. For me, the second time was equally eye-opening. Seven years ago today I had that experience. As I held Silas, I didn’t feel any of the fear of the unknown I felt with Ella. Instead I felt nothing but deep gratitude toward God and my wife for theContinue Reading...

CrossFit is a life-transforming exercise program. The benefits of CrossFit are many, including increased: strength agility endurance confidence I have seen the benefit to many friends and church members who begin CrossFit. Yet CrossFit shares a hidden secret with many other formal workout programs. Exercise can bring tremendous benefits to a marriage, yet on many occasions I have seen well-intended people start exercise programs and they end up making decisions that hurt their marriage. (See:Continue Reading...

The post Beware of the CrossFit Affair appeared first on Kevin A. Thompson.